Along came a tick

More
14 years 10 months ago #1 by hidinginshadows
Along came a tick....
As far as ticks and Lymes Disease I'm no stranger to high risk activity, such as hiking, fishing, camping, paintball, working with wildlife, u.s. army service, horseback riding and so on. I have had hundreds of those little blood thirsty parasites feast on my life giving blood. I'm a pro at getting a lodged tick out of flesh, give me a pair of tweezers and twenty seconds and it's done.
I always knew the risks, but would not let that stop my love for the outdoors. I am not one of those "it won't happen to me" type of people, actually I'm a realist and think it probably will happen to me.
This spring has been particularly bad as far as ticks. I don't think a day hasn't gone by without atleast seeing a tick on myself. I've pulled about a dozen embedded ticks out of my flesh this season already.
About a week ago I noticed what I thought was a spider bite, which I'm not unacustomed to either. The woundsite grew larger and I noticed it was hot to the touch. After a few days without any sign of getting better I decieded to go to the doctor. I was given a blood test and started on a strong anti-biotic named Doxycycline.

I recieved a call today from DR. Weinberg with news of my bloodwork results. "the test result for the prsesnce of Lymes Disease is POSITIVE".
He assured me that it was detected during early stages, and to continue taking my anti-biotics. He wants to see me again in six weeks and we'll take it from there.
Doxycycline has to be taken on an empty stomach which causes nausea. No food one hour before, and no food three house after. This has seriously altered my eating patterns. I am also experiencing, fatigue, joint pain, and mild headaches.